Grayshott Hosts 2005 Hampshire Village of the Year Awards Ceremony

Mrs Mary Fagan JP presents the 2005 village award from Alex Thomas representing Calor to Dick Smith and Phil Bates

It was a proud day for Grayshott as they played hosts to the Calor Hampshire Village of the Year Awards for 2005 and also received a plaque from the Lord Lieutenant of Hampshire, Mrs Mary Fagan JP for winning the best village award.

Three other villages picked up awards at the ceremony held in the Village Hall; Selbourne, Cheriton and Vernham Dean

After the event Mrs Fagan wrote to Phil Bates “Congratulations, on a wonderfully organised Hampshire Village of the Year Awards. I was thrilled to be able to present the shield to the winning village of Grayshott and it was so lovely to meet so many residents from the village.” She continued “It was very kind of you to present me with the wonderful dish and it shall remind me of a most enjoyable afternoon spent with you all everytime I use it. The flowers too were lovely and their beautiful scent has filled the drawing room.”

Grayshott now goes forward to the regional and national competition including entering the ICT category for the first time.

View more photos of the day on Flickr

Next 2005 Best Village Award for Business in the Community South England

Previous 2005 Hampshire Village of the Year

Leave a Reply